

DIGITALEUROPE welcomes the adoption of European Parliament's report on Cybersecurity Act

Brussels, 10 July 2018

DIGITALEUROPE welcomes several aspects of the Parliament's Cybersecurity Act Report, adopted today in the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE), which significantly improves the proposal of the Commission.

"The most significant improvements of the Parliament's work are the integration of coordinated vulnerability disclosure best practices, and the strong mechanisms for stakeholder engagement, such as the new ad-hoc committees that will help ensure that the new certification schemes rely on industry know-how and expertise and are well designed for the market in a transparent way. This is important for the industry as it will help ensure that certification is fit for purpose and builds on existing best practices", said Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl, Director-general of DIGITALEUROPE.

DIGITALEUROPE also recognises the MEPs' attempt to ensure that the adopted schemes would be compatible with global mutual recognition arrangements, and we call on the developers of specific schemes to honour this ambition.

The Parliament and the Council have expanded the means by which companies can certify their products or services under the EU framework, allowing them to use self-declaration of conformity. This is good news, even though limiting this instrument to cases that present basic cybersecurity risks is likely to significantly impede market adoption. "Self-declaration of conformity must be more commonly accepted as it works well in practice. It is widely used for compliance with technical regulations, such as EU safety legislation for which self-declaration of conformity is used in 90% of cases", added Cecilia Bonefeld-Dahl.

DIGITALEUROPE urges the co-legislators to keep the voluntary nature of the framework in the upcoming trilogue negotiations. Determining that certifications for certain operators should be mandatory deviates from the existing national and international practice, where certification is voluntary. It will also create market access barriers for smaller players, who would need to undergo costly and time-consuming certification before launching a product or service on the market.

For more information, please contact:

Iva Tasheva, Privacy & Security Policy Manager +32 493 40 56 12 or iva.tasheva@digitaleurope.org

Lionel Sola, DIGITALEUROPE's Director of Communications & Political Outreach +32.492.25.84.32 or lionel.sola@digitaleurope.org



ABOUT DIGITALEUROPE

DIGITALEUROPE represents the digital technology industry in Europe. Our members include some of the world's largest IT, telecoms and consumer electronics companies and national associations from every part of Europe. DIGITALEUROPE wants European businesses and citizens to benefit fully from digital technologies and for Europe to grow, attract and sustain the world's best digital technology companies. DIGITALEUROPE ensures industry participation in the development and implementation of EU policies.

DIGITALEUROPE's members include in total over 35,000 ICT Companies in Europe represented by 63 Corporate Members and 39 National Trade Associations from across Europe. Our website provides further information on our recent news and activities: http://www.digitaleurope.org

DIGITALEUROPE MEMBERSHIP

Corporate Members

Adobe, Airbus, Amazon, AMD, Apple, Bosch, Bose, Brother, Canon, Cisco, Dell, Dropbox, Epson, Ericsson, Fujitsu, Google, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Hitachi, HP Inc., Huawei, IBM, Intel, JVC Kenwood Group, Konica Minolta, Kyocera, Lenovo, Lexmark, LG Electronics, Loewe, MasterCard, Microsoft, Mitsubishi Electric Europe, Motorola Solutions, MSD Europe Inc., NEC, Nokia, Nvidia Ltd., Océ, Oki, Oracle, Panasonic Europe, Philips, Pioneer, Qualcomm, Ricoh Europe PLC, Samsung, SAP, SAS, Schneider Electric, Sharp Electronics, Siemens, Sony, Swatch Group, Tata Consultancy Services, Technicolor, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, TP Vision, VMware, Western Digital, Xerox, Zebra Technologies.

National Trade Associations

Austria: IOÖ Belarus: INFOPARK Belgium: AGORIA Bulgaria: BAIT

Croatia: Croatian Chamber of

Economy Cyprus: CITEA

Denmark: DI Digital, IT-BRANCHEN

Estonia: ITL Finland: TIF

France: AFNUM, Syntec Numérique,

Tech in France

Germany: BITKOM, ZVEI

Greece: SEPE **Hungary:** IVSZ

Ireland: TECHNOLOGY IRELAND

Italy: Anitec-Assinform Lithuania: INFOBALT Luxembourg: APSI

Netherlands: Nederland ICT, FIAR

Poland: KIGEIT, PIIT, ZIPSEE

Portugal: AGEFE

Romania: ANIS, APDETIC

Slovakia: ITAS

Slovenia: GZS Spain: AMETIC Sweden: Foreningen Teknikföretagen i Sverige, IT&Telekomföretagen Switzerland: SWICO

Turkey: Digital Turkey Platform, ECID

Ukraine: IT UKRAINE United Kingdom: techUK